The Goodness of God

27 Jul

07.27.2010

Early this morning I was talking on the phone with a dear friend in Israel.  As we shared our faith and personal experiences with the Lord, we began to worship and pray together.  As I was praying, the Holy Spirit began showing me things and speaking His thoughts through me. 

I began to speak of the goodness of our Father and how it was incomparable–how His kindness and His mercy was far beyond anything we could even comprehend, and how His greatest desire was for man to be reconciled to Him.  He reminded me of the account in the Gospels where a certain ruler kneeled before Jesus and asked, “Good Master, what shall I do that I may inherit eternal life?” Jesus responded, “Why callest thou me good?  there is none good but one, that is, God.”  (Mark 10:17-18)

As we continued worshiping and speaking to one another of Father’s goodness, I had such a strong desire to write about this and post it to my site for you to read and be reminded of how good, how loving, how merciful, and how kind our Father God is.   I wanted to tell all who read it that Almighty God who created heaven and earth and all that is in it desires His creation–all mankind–to be reconciled to Him so they can experience His goodness.

Because I experience His great love and goodness every day, it is not easy to be a prophet of judgment.  I would love to only speak edifying words and exhort you by telling you of His goodness, but He has called me to proclaim not only His goodness, but His judgment for sin.  He does not judge for the sake of judging.  His very nature is love and mercy, and His ultimate goal, even through judgment, is for man to be reconciled to Him.  He does not desire judgment.  He desires mercy.  The Bible is full of this truth of His nature and character. He is so long-suffering.  God wanted so much for man to be reconciled to Him, that He sacrificed His only Son–Jesus–so that faith in His Son would afford the Believer the absolute mercy of God–that their sins would be forgiven and they would not receive the judgment they so deserved.

When I got off of the phone I opened my Bible. With no plan or forethought, I grabbed a handful of pages to open it and my eyes fell upon this:


And I will betroth thee unto me for ever; yea, I will betroth thee unto me in righteousness, and in judgment, and in lovingkindness, and in mercies.   I will even betroth thee unto me in faithfulness: and thou shalt know the LORD.   And it shall come to pass in that day, I will hear, saith the LORD, I will hear the heavens, and they shall hear the earth;  And the earth shall hear the corn, and the wine, and the oil; and they shall hear Jezreel.   And I will sow her unto me in the earth; and I will have mercy upon her that had not obtained mercy; and I will say to them which were not my people, Thou art my people; and they shall say, Thou art my God.

Did you see it?  His love and kindness and faithfulness and mercy, but also his righteous judgment was all spoken of as He declared that He would “marry” (be a husband to) His people–that He would be in COVENANT with them.    I had no idea where I was reading until I looked up at the top of the page and saw that I was reading the last verses of the second chapter of Hosea.  I then noticed the header at the very top of the page that read:

“God’s severe judgments,
and promises of reconciliation.”

You see?  God is SO FAITHFUL!  He always confirms His Word with His Word.  He was repeating the very thing that the Holy Spirit had me praying and declaring only moments before.  If you read all of chapter two of Hosea,  you will see the pronouncement of judgment by God through His prophet was spoken first.  God revealed the sinfulness of His people, their unfaithfulness to God, their idolatry and spiritual adultery, and then proclaimed the covenant He would make with them to redeem them from their sin.

Indeed, there was no doubt that I was to share this with you and remind you that because God is righteous and just, He will judge sin, but even in His righteous judgment, His great mercy is present to those who call upon His name and desire to honor and obey His Word.  He did not sacrifice His Son so that man could trample under foot the precious and holy blood of His covenant.  You are either His Son’s bride–or you are not.  The choice is yours.  God’s desire is that none perish but that all receive His only provision for reconciliation–His Son–by faith.  It is His GIFT to us.  No one can compare to God’s goodness, His kindness and His mercy.  Believe, and receive His goodness right now.

