Bold Messengers

16 Aug

August 16, 2010

As I drove into town this morning just before 8 A.M., during the rush hour traffic, I saw something I’ve never seen in our city before.  Standing on the corner of the main intersection was a tall, clean-cut, southern gentleman who was nicely dressed and wearing a cowboy hat.  He looked to be about my age–in his late 50’s or early 60’s.  What was so unusual was what he was holding.  He was holding a white sign, about 4×3 foot with large black neatly spaced lettering.  It read:

I only had a couple of seconds as the light was changing, but as I reached the man, I waved enthusiastically and gave him a big smile and a thumbs up.  He seemed very appreciative and returned the smile.  As I drove past, I praised God for this Christian’s boldness, but also that this man is hearing God and doing what he can to proclaim God’s message for America in this hour.  His faith, his witness, his boldness, and his message, brought me to tears. Would to God that all of God’s people would not only do what the sign said, but would be as bold with God’s message as this man.

Time is short–much shorter than we could ever realize–and it is TIME that God’s people awaken to what the Spirit of the Lord is saying to the Church in this hour.


“For it is time for judgment
to begin with the household of God;
and if it begins with us first,
what will be the outcome for those
who do not obey the gospel of God?”

“AND IF IT IS WITH DIFFICULTY
THAT THE RIGHTEOUS IS SAVED,
WHAT WILL BECOME OF
THE GODLESS MAN AND THE SINNER?”

1 Peter 4:17-18

